Twenty-one school districts have filed motions to receive immediate restitution for the $230 million they believe is owed to them by the state under the Mississippi Adequate Education Program (MAEP).

The motions also seek full funding of all Mississippi school districts under MAEP.
A hearing will be held on Jan. 14, 2015, in Hinds County Chancery Court.

Both the state and the school districts are asking the court to consider an immediate ruling without a trial.

The 21 districts are Clarksdale, Clay County, Forrest Municipal, Greene County, Greenville, Hattiesburg, Humphreys County, Jackson Public, Leake County, Leland, North Bolivar, Okolona, Prentiss County, Richton, Simpson County, Smith County, Sunflower Consolidated, Tate County, Wayne County, West Tallahatchie and Wilkinson County.

Read More


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s