In a letter to the board of supervisors, Grenada County Circuit Clerk Linda Barnette announced her resignation on Tuesday, citing the Supreme Court’s decision to legalize same-sex marriage.

Barnette has been the circuit clerk for 24 years, and announced that her resignation is effective immediately.

“The Supreme Court’s decision violates my core values as a Christian,” she wrote. “My final authority is the Bible. I cannot in all good conscience issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples under my name because the Bible clearly teaches that homosexuality is contrary to God’s plan and purpose for marriage and family.”

Barnette has not yet been available to take phone calls.

“I want to thank the citizens of Grenada County for giving me the honor of serving as their circuit clerk,” she wrote.

Aquaintances said Barnette’s husband is a pastor who worked with Billy Graham Ministries for many years.

“I choose to obey God rather than man,” Barnette wrote.

Read More

5 thoughts on “Grenada County Circuit Clerk resigns citing same-sex marriage: “I choose to obey God.”

  1. She is to be commended for standing up for her beliefs. However, it shouldn’t have to come down to people resigning. The SCOTUS ruling is a farce. I just wish that there was a real president in office that would stand up for OUR Christian values.

  2. God bless you!!!! Thank you!!!! We should all be following in your footsteps, although I’m not in an office, I totally understand and appreciate your standing up for our Christian beliefs!!!!

  3. I admire her greatly. Thank you mam for standing up for values. Most are too scared to stand up. You are to be commended.

Leave a Reply

