Sen. Melanie Sojourner Releases  Statement On Status Of District 37 Race


Senator Melanie Sojourner released the following statement to update voters on the status of the election for Senate District 37. 

“I want to thank the hundreds of volunteers and the 8,000 plus voters in District 37 who stood strong as we fought to restore conservative principles.

“You believe in me, and never wavered. Well, I believe in you, too. And I am forever grateful for your friendship and support.

“Four years ago, I promised you I would fight for our conservative convictions, and I honored my word.

“Each day, I sacrificed for the Conservative movement and the people of Mississippi.
“Because I stood for you and our values, establishment insiders attempted to malign my character and my legislative record. Because I refused to join their “good-old-boys” club, they sought my defeat. Instead of responding negatively, I stayed the course, talking to voters about the issues and my real record in the Mississippi Senate.

“Even though I ran in a district which is traditionally controlled by Democrats, I understand that the conservative majority of Mississippians want leaders who will stand against the likes of President Obama’s dangerous liberal agenda, which mirrors the Democrat Party’s agenda in Jackson, even when it entails personal loss.

“Make no mistake, I was willing to give up our senate seat, if it meant doing the right thing; and I would have never surrendered your conservative principles just for the sake of being reelected. Sacrifice is often required to advance the cause of liberty and Constitutional government, so we must have the courage to view this fight with our eyes toward the horizon, recognizing that lasting change is seldom achieved in a four-year political cycle.

“To save our republic, we must become bigger than we have been: more courageous, greater in faith, larger in our outlook. For the sake of our children, the future begins now.

“With that said, there have been glaring examples with the process in this election that are deeply troubling, and voters and volunteers are working to be certain that the integrity of this election has not been compromised. We must be sure that any and all votes were legally cast and legally accepted.

“Notwithstanding this ongoing process, we acknowledge that we currently lack the number of votes for conservative Republicans to hold on to the District 37 Senate seat.

“But, let me be clear. Regardless of the final outcome, this is not the end for me. And it is not the end for you, my friends and supporters. Whatever plans God may have for me, I promise to continue my fight against liberalism and to restore American exceptionalism and liberty-based conservatism to the Republican Party and Mississippi.

“I promised you I would fight four years ago, and I delivered on that promise. But more importantly, I promise to still be fighting four years from now.

“Change is coming to Mississippi.”

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Sen. Melanie Sojourner Releases  Statement On Status Of District 37 Race

  1. Excellent response to this matter. Thank you Melanie for being in this for the people and not your personal preferences. You have listened. We appreciate that some one takes the time to listen.

  2. What a bunch of self-important hooey. She respect the will of the people only to the extent that the people share her narrow-minded views.

  3. John K Mayes

    Well, apart from the poor grammar, punctuation, and sentence structure, this is quite an interesting and disingenuous statement.

    We can all only speculate on Mrs. Cochran’s perspective, may her soul rest in peace.

    • ladynred

      Maybe old Thad should have considered Mrs. Cochran while he was running all over the world with the OTHER WOMAN!, John K Mayes. All the corrupt people in MS will eventually be defeated. God is on our side.

      • John K Mayes

        “All the corrupt people in MS will eventually be defeated. God is on our side.”

        Right. God isn’t worried about famine, disease, rape, war. He is worried about politicians in a backwards, last place, wasteland called Mississippi.

        Grow up.

  4. Pingback: Franklin County Poll Workers Accused of Violation of Election Law in Affidavit; Sojourner Sends Letters of “Intent to Inspect” | Mississippi PEP

  5. Pingback: Criminal Charges Filed Against Franklin County Poll Workers; Prompts Sojourner To File Letter of Intent | Mississippi PEP

  6. ladynred

    Are you not from MS, John K Mayes? If not, why are you butting in our business?

Leave a Reply

