Pro-Life Mississippi Spring Banquet to feature speaker “Conceived In Rape”


  

Pro Life Mississippi will hold it’s Spring Banquet on April 21 with feature speaker Rebecca Kiessling. Kiessling was conceived in rape and was nearly aborted by her birthmother on two separate occasions. Kiessling speaks out against the crime of rape being described as a legitimate exception to the stance against abortion. 

“Please understand that whenever you identify yourself as being ‘pro-choice,’ or whenever you make that exception for rape, what that really translates into is you being able to stand before me, look me in the eye, and say to me, “I think your mother should have been able to abort you,” says Kiessling. “This is the ruthless reality of that position, and I can tell you that it hurts and it’s mean. But I know that most people don’t put a face to this issue. For them, it’s just a concept — a quick cliche, and they sweep it under the rug and forget about it. I do hope that, as a child of rape, I can help to put a face, a voice, and a story to this issue.”

“I’ve often experienced those who would confront me and try to dismiss me with quick quips like, “Oh well, you’re lucky,” Kiessling says. “My survival has nothing to do with luck. The fact that I’m alive today has to do with choices that were made by our society at large, people who fought to ensure abortion was illegal in Michigan at the time —even in cases of rape, people who argued to protect my life, and people who voted pro-life. I wasn’t lucky. I was protected.”

What: Pro-Life Mississippi 2016 Spring Banquet

When
: Thursday, April 21, 2016
Silent Auction 5:00 p.m.
Banquet 6:30 p.m.

Where
: First Baptist Church of Jackson
431 N. State St., Jackson, MS 39201

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

